University announces academic program restructuring

Students study in the Monninger Center.

Photo by: Joshua Siniscal

July 1, 2020 — As the fall semester approaches, University leaders have introduced the next phase of academic updates at Fairleigh Dickinson.

“Higher education is currently facing many challenges and we believe that our new academic structure positions the University to better address these challenges, serve our students and continue to develop into a strong university,” says Gillian Small, University provost and senior vice president for academic affairs.

Going forward, the Maxwell Becton College of Arts and Sciences will span both New Jersey campuses (similar to the Silberman College of Business) to include the Department of Biological Sciences; the Department of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Physics; the Department of Communication; the Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice; the Department of Literature, Languages, Writing and Humanities; the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, the Department of Social Sciences and History; and the School of the Arts.

A new Hispanic Center will be formed within Becton College to strengthen and support the Latinx programs — Latino Promise, Puerta al Futuro and Hacer — at FDU.

The Anthony J. Petrocelli College of Continuing Studies will no longer exist as such, but FDU has now established the Anthony J. Petrocelli Center for Continuing Studies. This will include Middle College, Precollege, Community College Partnerships, and the Yeshiva Program. Steve Nelson, the Metropolitan Campus executive, will serve as interim director of the new center for the coming year. Some of the degree programs formerly housed in Petrocelli will now be incorporated into other schools. Sports Administration programs are now offered within the hospitality school, which will henceforth be known as the International School of Hospitality, Sports and Tourism Management. The Master of Administrative Science, the Master of Cyber and Homeland Security, and the Master of Student Services Administration will now fall under the School of Public and Global Affairs.

The other independently formed schools are: the Henry P. Becton School of Nursing and Allied Health; the Gildart Haase School of Computer Sciences and Engineering; the Peter Sammartino School of Education; and the School of Psychology and Counseling. These schools join the existing School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.

“The academic restructuring process aims to align our programs in the best manner possible, to create a better fit and to strengthen all academics,” says Small.

go to what’s new