Faculty and Staff

Singer, Miriam

Interim Director, Associate Professor; Ed.D., Seton Hall University

Phone: (201) 692-2853

E-mail: singer@fdu.edu

Teaching: Teacher Preparation, student success, student retention

Research: Data analysis for program improvement, student with disabilities

 

Spence, Kathryn

Associate Professor; Ed.D., Columbia University

Phone: (973)443-8345

E-mail: Kspence@fdu.edu

Teaching: Undergraduate education seminars, graduate courses in secondary literacy instruction and urban education

Research: new teacher attrition and retention, teacher preparation and induction, school change in urban environments, and blended learning in K-12 settings

 

Farrell, Mary Lupiani

Ph.D. Professor, School of Education Director, Center for Dyslexia Studies; University Director,

Regional Center for College students with LD

Phone: (201) 692-2298

E-mail: Farrell@fdu.edu

Teaching & Research: Learning disabilities, dyslexia, remediation of reading disabilities

 

Hansen, Nicole

Assistant Professor; Ph.D., University of Delaware

Phone: (201) 692-2312

E-mail: nhansen@fdu.edu

Teaching: Courses in special education

Research: Mathematics learning and learning disabilities

 

Joshi, Khyati

Professor; Ed.D., University of Massachusetts – Amherst

Phone: (201) 692-2826

E-mail: Khyati@fdu.edu

Teaching: Multicultural education, Final Project and Urban education

Research: Multicultural education

www.khyatijoshi.com

 

Karpinski, Carol

Professor; Director, M.A.T.; Ed.D. Rutgers University

Phone: (201) 692-2838

E-mail: karpin@fdu.edu

Teaching: Assessment courses, student teaching seminar

Research: Leadership, teacher unions, history of education, assessment

 

Meskin, Leslie

Coordinates Literacy Reading Specialist Program

Lecturer; Ed.D., Rutgers University

Phone: (201) 692-2201

E-mail: lmeskin@fdu.edu

Teaching: Literacy courses

Research: Reading and writing.

 

Montani, Teresa

Director, Learning Disabilities; Associate Professor, Ed.D., Rutgers University

Phone: (201) 692-2837

E-mail: montani@fdu.edu

Research: Assessment of learning disabilities, mathematical disabilities in young children

 

Ray, Louis

Deputy Director School of Education; Associate Professor; Ph.D., New York University

Phone: (201) 692-2849 or (973) 443-8375

E-mail: louray5@fdu.edu

Teaching: Human Relations and Conflict Resolution, Evaluation and Measurement, Final Project;

Research: History of Education, history of higher education

 

Randall Westbrook

Lecturer: Ed.D., Rutgers University

Phone: (973) 443-8382

E-mail: rowest@fdu.edu

Teaching: Professional development; Philosophy of Education

Research: History of Educational Thought; Philosophy of Education

 

Suh, Sora

Assistant Professor, PhD

Coordinator of ESL, Bilingual, and Second Language Acquisition

Phone: E-Mail: sorasuh@fdu.edu

Teaching: Second language acquisition courses

Research: Language development of bilingual children and Pbbbreparation of teachers to become linguistically responsive to the rich and diverse linguistic repertoires of bilingual children in the classroom

 

Bornstein, Joshua

Assistant Professor; EdD

Director: Educational Leadership

Phone: 201-692-2831 E-Mail: bornsteinj@fdu.edu

Teaching: Education Leadership

Research: Educational Leadership; Equity

 

Jones, Jennifer V.

Lecturer; PhD

Coordinator: Mathematical Foundations

Phone: (201) 692-2836 E-Mail: JVJones@fdu.edu

Teaching: Mathematics Pedagogy

Research: Math Identity in Women and Minorities

 

 

Professional & Administrative Staff

 

Debren, Allen

Director, Instructional Technology

Phone: (201) 692-2631

E-mail: adebren@msn.com

 

Elkins, Cynthia

Assessment Coordinator, Ed.D., Columbia University

Phone: (201) 692-2079

E-mail: elkinsc@fdu.edu

 

Casadevall, JoAnn

Assistant to Director

Phone: (973) 443-8375

E-mail: jocasa@fdu.edu

 

Harper, Milton

Administrative Assistant

Phone; (201) 692-2862

E-mail: milton3@fdu.edu

 

Martone, Vincent

Director of Certification and Field Placement, M.A., Jersey City State College

Phone: (201) 692-2085

E-mail: vjmarton@fdu.edu

 

Graham, Linette

Assistant to Director, M.P.A., Fairleigh Dickinson University

Phone: (201) 692-2836

E-mail: linettet@fdu.edu

 

Alkhalili, Michelle

Administrative Assistant

Phone: (201) 692-2085

E-mail: malkhali@fdu.edu