The Fulbright Scholar Program is the U.S. government’s flagship program in international educational exchange for faculty and professionals. The program offers funding opportunities for short-term and long-term research and lecturing abroad. Awards are offered each year to distinguished American scholars, for travel to some 140 countries around the world. Eligibility requirements include: U.S. citizenship at the time of application, PhD or equivalent professional or terminal degree, college or university teaching experience, foreign language proficiency (if required), and sound physical and mental health.
Did you know? The Fulbright Program, now in its 55th year, has amassed an alumni body of some 82,000 Scholars.


Fairleigh Dickinson University is proud to have among its faculty a number of Fulbright Scholars and Fulbright fellowship recipients.

Dr. Bamidele A. Ojo

Professor of Political Science
Fulbright Senior Scholar, Nigeria, 2001-2002

“There is nothing more enriching than the Fulbright experience. It is a rewarding academic exercise that also provides opportunities to gain more global perspectives within one’s area of expertise. It helps lay the foundation for contacts between academic institutions and allows for the scholar to gain a wider and more in depth academic knowledge that might have been impossible without Fulbright. The increased contact between the host institution and the home institution is a testament to the vision of this program; it has been a rewarding opportunity with a collaborative academic relationship for all concerned. For me, I am grateful for the opportunity. The Fulbright experience will leave a life-long imprint on my career.”

Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES)

Current Fulbright programs offered through the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (C.I.E.S) include:

For details on all of the programs offered through the Council for International Exchange of Scholars visit: www.cies.org, or contact FDU representative, Diana Cvitan.

Contact Information

Diana Cvitan

(201) 692-7161