LLWH Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Matthieu Boyd – Associate Professor of Literature
(PhD, Harvard University)
mwboyd@fdu.edu

Writing Program Directors

Kathryn Douglas – Assistant Professor of Rhetoric and Composition
(MFA, Fairleigh Dickinson University)
Director of Writing, Florham Campus
douglas@fdu.edu

Patricia Keefe Durso – Associate Professor of Literature
(PhD, George Washington University)
Director of Writing, Metro Campus
pkd@fdu.edu

Lynn Reid – Assistant Professor of Rhetoric and Composition
(PhD, Indiana University of Pennsylvania)
Director of Basic Writing
lreid@fdu.edu

Administrative Staff

Beth Purdue – Administrative Assistant, Metro Campus
bpurdue@fdu.edu

Full-time Faculty: Literature

Matthieu Boyd – Associate Professor, Florham and Metro
(PhD, Harvard University)
Ancient and medieval literature; multilingual British and Irish literature; folkloristics; Celtic languages and Celtic Studies; French; Breton; history and grammar of English; Canadian literature; Shakespeare
mwboyd@fdu.edu

Michael Cotto – Assistant Professor, Metro and Florham
(PhD, City University of New York)
African American literature; American literature; philosophy
michaelcotto@fdu.edu

Nandita Ghosh – Associate Professor, Florham Campus
(PhD, Fordham University)
Postcolonial fiction and theory; poststructuralist discourse; culture studies; contemporary world literature; 19th and 20th century British literature; studies in narratives, environment, development, and modernity
nghosh@fdu.edu

James Gifford – Professor, Vancouver Campus
(PhD, University of Alberta)
American, British, Canadian, and Irish literatures of the 19th and 20th centuries; postcolonial literature; travel literature; critical theory; cultural studies; digital humanities; music; popular culture; continental philosophy; political philosophy
gifford@fdu.edu

Gloria Pastorino – Professor, Florham Campus
(PhD, Harvard University)
Italian literature and culture; modern and contemporary European drama; French language and literature; comparative literature
gpastor@fdu.edu

April Patrick – Assistant Professor, Florham and Metro
(PhD, Texas Christian University)
18th and 19th century British literature; life writing; periodical studies; gender studies; medical humanities; children’s and young adult literature
patricka@fdu.edu

Carrie Shanafelt – Associate Professor, Metro Campus
(PhD, City University of New York)
18th-century British and global literature; aesthetics; ethics; rhetoric; sexuality
shanafel@fdu.edu

Geoffrey Weinman – Professor, Florham Campus
(PhD, The Johns Hopkins University)
American literature
weinman@fdu.edu

Full-time Faculty: Languages

Spanish

Patricia Bazán – Professor, Florham Campus
(PhD, New York University)
Spanish and Latin American literatures and culture
bazan@fdu.edu

Silvia Belén-Ramos – Senior Lecturer, Florham Campus
(MA, Universidad de Belgrano, Buenos Aires)
Spanish language; Latin American literature and culture
S_belen@fdu.edu

Laureano Corces – Associate Professor, Florham Campus
(PhD, New York University)
Spanish literature and culture; modern Spanish drama
corces@fdu.edu

Antonio Velásquez – Assistant Professor, Metro Campus
(PhD, University of Toronto)
20th century Spanish and Latin American prose; language teaching through technology; transatlantic, inter-American literary studies; translation studies
velasqu@fdu.edu

Italian and French

Gloria Pastorino – Professor, Florham Campus
(PhD, Harvard University)
Italian literature and culture; modern and contemporary European drama; French language and literature; comparative literature
gpastor@fdu.edu

Full-time Faculty: Writing Program

Kathryn Douglas – Assistant Professor
Director of Writing, Florham Campus
(MFA, Fairleigh Dickinson University)
Composition; composition pedagogy; children’s literature; Milton
douglas@fdu.edu

Patricia Keefe Durso – Associate Professor
Director of Writing, Metro Campus
(PhD, George Washington University)
Composition; contemporary American literature; ethnic American literatures; Irish and Irish American writers; literature by women; digital humanities
pkd@fdu.edu

JR Pinto – Senior Lecturer, Florham Campus
(MFA, Fairleigh Dickinson University)
Composition; travel writing
jrpinto@fdu.edu

Bethany Rabinowitz – Senior Lecturer, Florham Campus
(MA, SUNY-Albany)
Composition; reading; developmental writing
brabinow@fdu.edu

Lynn Reid – Assistant Professor, Florham and Metro
(PhD, Indiana University of Pennsylvania)
Basic writing; composition and rhetoric; digital literacies; multimodal composition; adult learning theory; TESOL
lreid@fdu.edu

Kenneth Sammond – Senior Lecturer, Florham Campus
(PhD, Rutgers University)
Composition; classical literature; sports writing; science fiction; graphic novels
ksammond@fdu.edu

Thomas Swanzey – Professor, Metro Campus
(PhD, Rutgers University)
thomas_s@fdu.edu

Julia Wagner – Senior Lecturer, Metro Campus
(MFA, Brooklyn College, City University of New York)
Academic writing; creative writing and poetry
jawagner@fdu.edu

Full-time Faculty: Philosophy and General Humanities

Laureano Corces – Associate Professor, Florham Campus
(PhD, New York University)
Spanish literature and culture; modern Spanish drama
corces@fdu.edu

Michael Cotto – Assistant Professor, Metro, and Florham
(PhD, City University of New York)
African American literature; American literature; philosophy
michaelcotto@fdu.edu

James Gifford – Professor, Vancouver Campus
(PhD, University of Alberta)
American, British, Canadian, and Irish literature of the 19th and 20th centuries; postcolonial literature; travel literature; critical theory; cultural studies; digital humanities; music; popular culture; continental philosophy; political philosophy
gifford@fdu.edu

Odysseus Makridis – Professor, Florham Campus
(PhD, Brandeis University)
Ancient and modern philosophy; political philosophy; law and justice; formal logic studies
makridis@fdu.edu

Adam Rudder – Lecturer, Vancouver Campus
(PhD, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)
Coordinator, BAIS Program; Black history of British Columbia and Slovenia; communications; sociology
arudder@fdu.edu

Carrie Shanafelt – Associate Professor, Metro Campus
(PhD, City University of New York)
18th-century British and global literature; aesthetics; ethics; rhetoric; sexuality
shanafel@fdu.edu

Laurence Winters – Senior Lecturer, Metro Campus
(PhD, The New School University)
Continental philosophy; philosophy of social and natural sciences; logic; interdisciplinary studies
lwinters@fdu.edu

Full-time Faculty: Hispanic Center

Oscar Avendano – Lecturer, Metro Campus
(MA, Fairleigh Dickinson University)
ESL Coordinator
nela998@fdu.edu

Erika Oliveros – Senior Lecturer, Metro Campus
(MEd, William Paterson University)
oliveros@fdu.edu

Irene Oujo – Senior Lecturer, Metro Campus
(MA, American University)
oujo@fdu.edu

Full-time Faculty: Pre-University Program and English for Specific Purposes

Nela Damjanovski – Lecturer, Vancouver Campus
(PhD, University of Novi Sad, Serbia)
nela998@fdu.edu

Amiena Mohammed – Lecturer, Vancouver Campus
(MA, Hospitality Management, Cape Peninsula University of Technology, South Africa)
amiena@fdu.edu

Craig Noels – Lecturer, Vancouver Campus
(MEd, William Howard Taft University)
CraigPNoels@fdu.edu

Mehran Norafkan – Lecturer, Vancouver Campus
(PhD, Simon Fraser University)
mehran@fdu.edu

Suzanne Seblani – Lecturer, Vancouver Campus
(BA, University of British Columbia)
sseblani@fdu.edu

LLWH Faculty with administrative positions outside a department

Janet Boyd – Associate Professor
(PhD, Columbia University)
Associate Dean of Becton College of Arts and Sciences, Metro Campus

James Gifford – Professor
(PhD, University of Alberta)
Director of the University Core, Vancouver Campus
Director of FDU Press

April Patrick – Assistant Professor
(PhD, Texas Christian University)
University Director of Honors Programs

Jason Scorza – Professor
(PhD, Princeton University)
Vice Provost for Global Learning