Faculty and Staff

Florham Campus 

Patricia Bazán – Professor, Spanish Language and Literature 
(PhD, New York University) 
Spanish and Latin American literatures and culture 
bazan@fdu.edu

Silvia Belén-Ramos – Senior Lecturer, Spanish Language 
(MA, Universidad de Belgrano, Buenos Aires) 
Spanish language; Latin American literature and culture  
S_belen@fdu.edu 

Peter Benson – Professor, Literature  
Acting Director, MA in Creative Writing and Literature for Educators 
(PhD, State University of New York, Stony Brook) 
American literature, African literature, world literature 
pebenson@fdu.edu 

Sharon Brueno – Administrative Assistant, College Writing Program, Florham Campus  
brueno@fdu.edu 

Matthieu Boyd – Associate Professor, Literature  
Department Chair 
(PhD, Harvard University) 
Ancient and medieval literature; multilingual British and Irish literature; folkloristics; Celtic languages; French; history and grammar of English; Canadian literature; Shakespeare 
mwboyd@fdu.edu 

Laureano Corces – Associate Professor, Spanish Language and Literature 
(PhD, New York University) 
Spanish literature and culture; modern Spanish drama  
corces@fdu.edu 

Kathryn Douglas– Senior Lecturer 
Director of Writing, Florham Campus 
(MFA, Fairleigh Dickinson University) 
Composition; composition pedagogy; children’s literature; Milton 
douglas@fdu.edu 

Nandita Ghosh – Associate Professor, Literature 
(PhD, Fordham University) 
Postcolonial fiction and theory; poststructuralist discourse; culture studies; contemporary world literature; 19th and 20th century British literature; studies in narratives, environment, development, and modernity 
nghosh@fdu.edu 

Odysseus Makridis – Professor, Philosophy 
(PhD, Brandeis University) 
Ancient and modern philosophy; political philosophy; law and justice; formal logic studies 
makridis@fdu.edu 

Gloria Pastorino – Professor, Italian and French Language and Literature 
(PhD, Harvard University) 
Italian literature and culture; modern and contemporary European drama; French language and literature; comparative literature 
gpastor@fdu.edu 

April Patrick – Assistant Professor, Literature 
University Director of Honors Programs 
(PhD, Texas Christian University) 
18th and 19th century British literature; life writing; periodical studies; gender studies; medical humanities; children’s and young adult literature 
patricka@fdu.edu 

JR Pinto – Senior Lecturer, Writing 
(MFA, Fairleigh Dickinson University) 
Composition; travel writing 
jrpinto@fdu.edu 

Bethany Rabinowitz – Senior Lecturer, Writing 
(MA, SUNY-Albany) 
Composition; reading; developmental writing 
brabinow@fdu.edu 

Lynn Reid – Assistant Professor, Writing 
Director of Basic Writing 
(PhD, Indiana University of Pennsylvania) 
Basic writing; composition and rhetoric; digital literacies; multimodal composition; adult learning theory; TESOL 
lreid@fdu.edu 

Kenneth Sammond – Senior Lecturer, Writing 
(PhD, Rutgers University) 
Composition; classical literature; sports writing; science fiction; graphic novels 
ksammond@fdu.edu 

Geoffrey Weinman – Professor, Literature 

Dean of Becton College of Arts and Sciences 

(PhD, The Johns Hopkins University) 

American literature, American drama 

weinman@fdu.edu 

 

Yvonne Zarnitz – Administrative Assistant, Florham Campus  
yvonnez@fdu.edu 

Metro Campus 

Janet Boyd – Associate Professor, Literature 

Associate Dean of Becton College of Arts and Sciences, Metro Campus 

(PhD, Columbia University) 

Academic writing and pedagogy; Modernism; American literature 

boydj@fdu.edu 

 

Patricia Keefe Durso – Associate Professor, Writing 
Director of Writing, Metro Campus 
(PhD, George Washington University) 
Composition; contemporary American literature; ethnic American literatures; Irish and Irish American writers; literature by women; digital humanities 
pkd@fdu.edu 

Francis Ingledew – Professor, Literature 
(PhD, Washington University in St. Louis) 
Medieval literature and historiography; Caribbean literature; interdisciplinary teaching 
ingledew@fdu.edu 

Mutiara Mohamad 
(EdD, Columbia University)  
Interim Director of Writing, Metro Campus 
mutiara@fdu.edu 

Martha B. Pitts – Assistant Professor, Literature 
(PhD, Louisiana State University) 
U.S. life writing; 19th century African-American literature; 19th and 20th century American literature; feminist theory 
mbpitts18@fdu.edu 

Jason Scorza – Professor, Philosophy 

Vice Provost for Global Learning 

(PhD, Princeton University) 

Political philosophy; ethics and public affairs; American philosophy 

scorza@fdu.edu 

 

Carrie Shanafelt – Assistant Professor, Literature 
(PhD, City University of New York) 
18th-century British and global literature; aesthetics; ethics; rhetoric; sexuality 
shanafel@fdu.edu 

Antonio Velásquez – Assistant Professor, Spanish Language and Literature 
(PhD, University of Toronto) 
20th century Spanish and Latin American prose; language teaching through technology; transatlantic, inter-American literary studies; translation studies 
velasqu@fdu.edu 

Julia Wagner – Senior Lecturer, Metro Campus 
(MFA, Brooklyn College, City University of New York) 
Academic writing; creative writing and poetry 
jawagner@fdu.edu 

Laurence Winters – Senior Lecturer, Philosophy and Humanities 
(PhD, The New School University) 
Continental philosophy; philosophy of social and natural sciences; logic; interdisciplinary studies 
lwinters@fdu.edu 

William G. Zimmerle – Assistant Professor, Humanities 
(PhD, University of Pennsylvania) 
Religion and philosophy; morality and ethics; Christianity and Islam; Middle East studies; technology and globalization; anthropology and cultural heritage; museum studies; intellectual property 
zimmerle@fdu.edu  

Vancouver Campus 

James Gifford – Associate Professor, Literature 

Director of the University Core, Vancouver Campus 

Director of FDU Press 
(PhD, University of Alberta) 

American, British, Canadian, and Irish literatures of the 19th and 20th centuries; postcolonial literature; travel literature; critical theory; cultural studies; digital humanities; music; popular culture 
gifford@fdu.edu